benton’s flood disaster, the bestest business startup tips ever

 Flood Disaster

 Flood Disaster, 1951. By American Regionalist painter Thomas Hart Benton. I’ve been having a some good luck lately stumbling over things that are related to what I was researching, but I had not thought of. I finally got a good print of this painting and while looking Benton’s birth date (April 15, 1889 – January 19, 1975) I came across this recent article on Flood Disaster, Thomas Hart Benton An American Artist

I recently read an article about a 1951 Thomas Hart Benton painting that sold for nearly $1.9 million at a Southeby’s auction. The painting, Flood Disaster, was created to highlight the devastating flooding of the Kansas and Missouri rivers in July 1951 that killed 17 people and displaced more than half a million residents. The painting seems timely in light of the current flooding of the Mississippi River.

I was looking at a Benton painting in a museum once and some older women that seemed to be part of a tour group looked at the same painting and one said that it reminded her of a cartoon. They looked over at me – I was fascinated by that painting and was trying to sear it into my memory -I smiled and nodded. They seemed embarrassed that they might have made a silly evaluation. Especially in the context of what we grow up with in terms of graphics – his style does have an illustrated graphic novel quality about it. That might be because his style has influenced directly, or indirectly, so many graphic artists.

tree at sunrise

tree at sunrise

I got this link on Twitter. I generally don’t like links or articles that began with “Ten Tips…” I’m not sure why I clicked over, boredom, restless, anyway this turned out to be a major exception to my rule about such links, via Anil Dash, Ten Tips Guaranteed to Improve Your Startup Success

Having had the good fortune to work with a broad range of entrepreneurs and get a front-row seat to the foundations of their success, I thought it’d be good to share 10 key tips that I’ve found work 100% of the time to increase your odds of startup success. Try to execute on as many of these as you can!

  1. Be raised with access to clean drinking water and sanitation. (Every tech billionaire I’ve ever spoken to has a toilet!)
  2. Try to be born in a region that is politically and militarily stable.
  3. Have access to at least a basic free education in core subjects.
  4. Avoid being abused by family members, loved ones, friends or acquaintances during the formative years of your life.
  5. Be fluent in English, or have time to dedicate to continuously improving your language skills.
  6. Make sure there’s enough disposable income available to support your learning technology at a younger age.
  7. If you must be a member of an underrepresented community or a woman, get comfortable with suppressing your identity. If not, follow a numbingly conventional definition of dominant masculinity.
  8. Be within a narrow range of physical norms for appearance and ability, as defined by the comfort level of strangers.
  9. Practice articulating your cultural, technological or social aspirations exclusively in economic terms.

By following these ten simple tips, you’ll massively increase the odds of success of your startup! I guarantee it, or your money back.

 

