the lofty professions, the robots cometh

Aspen Magazine was published irregularly from 1965 to 1971 by Phyllis Johnson. Only it was not a magazine the way one usually thinks of them. It was supposed to be a work of art unto itself. It came in a box that including various media including photographs, film and recorded music. This is from actress Eva Marie Saint commenting in an issue on the film industry, Feeling Guilty at Times…

…I was interested in the point made about feeling guilty at times, that our profession is not perhaps as lofty as the of physicians, writers, or painters, and guess I feel a little of that. Once when went East, I had a most unusual experience in meeting one of my favorite painters, Mr. Andrew Wyeth. We both have a mutual friend in Westchester, Pennsylvania, who felt that we should meet. I found myself saying, “Oh, he wouldn’t know me. I’ve read about him and I know he is a very serious-minded painter and family man. I know he is more or less a recluse, and I can’t somehow imagine him watching movies.” But she called him and it turned out that he does go to the movies. He had seen every movie that I had ever made. So, when we met, it was very difficult for me to discuss the paintings with him which I wanted to discuss, because he wanted to discuss specific scenes from the movies with me.

As I left Westchester and headed back to Hollywood, I felt a little taller about being in Hollywood and making motion pictures.

Eva Marie Saint, Actress

Eva Marie Saint, Actress

I added the Andrew Wyeth link. I would post some of his work, but it is all still copyrighted. His paintings and prints of them are still very popular.

Robot Makers Spread Global Gospel of Automation

To buttress its claim that automation is not a job killer but instead a way for the United States to compete against increasingly advanced foreign competitors, the industry group reported findings on Tuesday that it said it would publish in February. The federation said the industry would directly and indirectly create from 1.9 million to 3.5 million jobs globally by 2020.

The federation held a news media event at which two chief executives of small American manufacturers described how they had been able to both increase employment and compete against foreign companies by relying heavily on automation and robots.

“Automation has allowed us to compete on a global basis. It has absolutely created jobs in southwest Michigan,” said Matt Tyler, chief executive of Vickers Engineering, an auto parts supplier. “Had it not been for automation, we would not have beat our Japanese competitor; we would not have beat our Chinese competitor; we would not have beat our Mexican competitor. It’s a fact.”

I guess we’ll all see how the predictions of net job increases work out. Most of us being worker ants we don’t get as much say in how the any colony is run as the ruling ants with money and lobbyists. If those high skill higher paying jobs do come to pass that requires a work force with more technical training. Since that kind of education – even a two year degree – is becoming more and more expensive, plus requires time to attend and study – lots of challenges as to how people are going to get those jobs.

From the final scene in Killing Them Softly (2012) . Mr. Driver is a boss with organized crime and Jackie is a contract killer/enforcer.

Barack Obama (on TV): …to reclaim the American dream and reaffirm that fundamental truth, that, out of many, we are one…
Driver: You hear that line? Line’s for you.
Jackie Cogan: Don’t make me laugh. One people. It’s a myth created by Thomas Jefferson.
Driver: Oh, so now you’re going to have a go at Jefferson, huh?
Jackie Cogan: My friend, Thomas Jefferson is an American saint because he wrote the words ‘All men are created equal’, words he clearly didn’t believe since he allowed his own children to live in slavery. He’s a rich white snob who’s sick of paying taxes to the Brits. So, yeah, he writes some lovely words and aroused the rabble and they went and died for those words while he sat back and drank his wine and fucked his slave girl. This guy wants to tell me we’re living in a community? Don’t make me laugh. I’m living in America, and in America you’re on your own. America’s not a country. It’s just a business. Now fuckin’ pay me.

 

blue rain storm wallpaper

blue rain storm wallpaper

