modern man viii, romanesque pieta, coming to question supernatural beings

modern man black and white

modern man viii

“I remember very clearly I walked the streets, I walked and I walked I didn’t know what was going through my mind, it all seemed so violent and unreal to me. I wandered for a long time on the upper west side, it must have been hours. My feet hurt, my head was pounding, and I had to sit down I went into a movie house. I didn’t know what was playing or anything I just needed a moment to gather my thoughts and be logical and put the world back into rational perspective. And I went upstairs to the balcony, and I sat down, and the movie was a film that I’d seen many times in my life since I was a kid, and I always loved it. I’m watching these people up on the screen and I started getting hooked on the film. I started to feel, how can you even think of killing yourself, I mean isn’t it so stupid. Look at all the people up there on the screen, they’re real funny, and what if the worst is true. What if there is no God and you only go around once and that’s it. Well, ya know, don’t you wanna be part of the experience? You know, what the hell it’s not all a drag. And I’m thinking to myself, Jeez, I should stop ruining my life searching for answers I’m never gonna get, and just enjoy it while it lasts. And after who knows, I mean maybe there is something, nobody really knows. I know maybe is a very slim reed to hang your whole life on, but that’s the best we have. And then I started to sit back, and I actually began to enjoy myself.” from Hannah and Her Sisters(1986) written by Woody Allen. The movie is an ensemble piece with several subplots going on throughout the picture. Hannah and her two sisters serve to anchor the stories. There is also a running theme about finding a way to look at life that makes it, if not happy, at least allows one to find some joy in the journey.

Quoting poetry in movies is about as chancy as real life. In Hannah one of the characters quotes part of an e.e. cummings poem that didn’t make me cringe. Just the last two stanzas from – somewhere i have never travelled,gladly beyond

nothing which we are to perceive in this world equals
the power of your intense fragility:whose texture
compels me with the color of its countries,
rendering death and forever with each breathing

(i do not know what it is about you that closes
and opens;only something in me understands
the voice of your eyes is deeper than all roses)
nobody,not even the rain,has such small hands

Romanesque pieta. if there are several people in a painting or sculpture depicting the Virgin Mary cradling the dead body of Jesus,it is technically a Lamentation of Christ. Though even in Italy it is common to call all such depictions a Pietà. This is one of, if not my favorite pieta sculpture done by Michelangelo.

Part of a series by the UK’s Guardian – ‘there are no gods’ (2/3)

This video explains that many atheists come to their lack of faith in any supernatural being because they’ve spent years reading, questioning and thinking about the conflicts inherent in whichever brand of faith they’ve been raised in.

