phoney smiles, round and round we go, the right’s bleak choices

Phony Friends? Rejected People Better Able to Spot Fake Smiles

An honest smile can convey a wide range of meanings, from being happy to having fun. Although, not all smiles are genuine. All of us have “faked a smile” at some point.

Now, a new study might make us think twice about sending out a phony grin. It has been shown that individuals who are experiencing rejection are better at picking up subtle social cues and according to a recent study published in the October issue of Psychological Science…

The authors think that once rejected, people become more attuned to the small signals that add up to genuine friendliness.

round and round we go

Well I don’t know why I came here tonight,
I got the feeling that something ain’t right,
I’m so scared in case I fall off my chair,
And I’m wondering how I’ll get down the stairs,
Clowns to the left of me,
Jokers to the right, here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you. – composed by Joe Egan and Gerry Rafferty

Civil War on the Right

For years, many of the elite conservatives were happy to harvest the votes of devout Christians and gun owners by waging a phony class war against “liberal elitists” and “leftist intellectuals.” Suddenly, the conservative writers are discovering that the very anti-intellectualism their side courted and encouraged has begun to consume their movement.

The cause of Edmund Burke, Leo Strauss, Robert Nisbet and William F. Buckley Jr. is now in the hands of Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity — and Sarah Palin. Reason has been overwhelmed by propaganda, ideas by slogans, learned manifestoes by direct-mail hit pieces.

E. J. Dionne Jr. might be correct in seeing the intra-wars that are boiling among the factions on the Right as the eastern establishment elite old money Conservatives as using what Palin described as the “real” America. Over the years it seemed to me they were using each other. Since they can’t win elections as a divided party, something has to give. Since America loves its pop culture, my money is on the eastern elite. The James Dobsons and Sarah Palins are already relics.